Making a Cathedral Length Drop Veil

Veils, like most other things in the wedding industry, are ridiculously overpriced. For my wedding, I wanted a long veil, one that trailed along at the edge of my dress. Cathedral length veils are about as pricey as they come, so this was definitely something I needed to make on my own.

IMG_2395

There is no shortage online of videos, articles, and blog posts on how to make a veil. The hardest part is choosing the style and adding embellishments. I decided I wanted a drop veil, because I love how it looks like it’s just delicately placed on the bride’s head, rather than the scrunched or gathered versions that have sort of a cloud of tulle at the back. It attaches to the hair with bobby pins or hat pins, instead of a comb. After googling some instructions and inspiration, I headed off to the fabric store.

Cathedral veils are fairly wide, so I purchased the widest tulle I could find, about 108″ wide. Wanting to match my ivory gown, I chose an ivory tulle. At the time, the only wide ivory tulle the store had on hand was a shimmery tulle. I would have preferred a matte tulle, but this worked just fine. I bought about three and a half yards, so that the veil would be long enough to trail behind the dress by a few inches. You can find instructions on how to measure yourself for a cathedral length veil here.

To make the veil, I folded the tulle in half length-wise, and then in half width-wise. I made a make-shift compass and sketched out rounded edges and cut just inside the line so that the markings wouldn’t be on the finished veil. Then I unfolded it and tried it on. The veil was beautiful on its own, but I thought it might be nice to have a defined edge at the back, since my dress has no trim on the edge of the train. Since lace is fairly costly, I chose to line just a portion of the back of the veil with lace, and I used a coupon! I sewed the lace on by hand and trimmed the tulle to follow the edge of the lace.

IMG_2397

Sewing the lace onto the veil was the most time consuming part of the project. In the end, making my own veil cost about $50 and took a few hours to complete. If you wanted to add more detail, it would add more time and raise the cost. Considering that cathedral veils usually cost several hundred dollars, I think this project is worth the effort.

Let me know what you think!

